Back to News Release
March 11, 2021

Subaru Earns Nine IIHS Award for 2021 Model Lineup
(applies to US models only)

Subaru tied for most 2021 IIHS awards earned by an individual brand
Subaru has received more IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK+ awards than any other brand since 2013*1*2
Crosstrek*3 Hybrid, Forester, Legacy, Outback and Ascent earn 2021 IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK+
Impreza sedan and five-door, Crosstrek and WRX earn 2021 IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK
All Subaru models receive a ‘Superior’ rating in front crash prevention when equipped with EyeSight Driver Assist Technology

Tokyo, March 11, 2021 – Subaru Corporation announced that its 2021 vehicle lineup for US market received five TOP SAFETY PICK+ (TSP+) and four TOP SAFETY PICK (TSP) awards from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS).

2021 TOP SAFETY PICK + Winners
Crosstrek Hybrid (TSP+ for three consecutive years) *2
Forester (TSP for 15 consecutive years) *2
Legacy (TSP for 16 consecutive years) *2
Outback (TSP for 13 consecutive years) *2
Ascent (TSP for four consecutive years) *2

2021 TOP SAFETY PICK Winners
Impreza sedan and five-door (with EyeSight and specific headlights) (TSP for 14 consecutive years) *2
Crosstrek (with EyeSight and specific headlights) (TSP for 10 consecutive years) *2
WRX (with EyeSight and specific headlights) (TSP for eight consecutive years) *2

With the five 2021 TSP+ awards added, Subaru has received a cumulative total of 57 TOP SAFETY PICK+ awards since its inauguration in 2013, which is more than any other brand*1*2.

IIHS aims to promote safer vehicles by continuously raising its testing criteria and making it more stringent. To earn a 2021 TSP award, vehicles must earn “Good” ratings in each of IIHS’s six crashworthiness evaluations, “Good” or “Acceptable” headlight ratings, and available front crash prevention that earns “Advanced” or “Superior” ratings in both vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-pedestrian evaluations. The “TSP+” is awarded to models that come with “Good” or “Acceptable” headlights as standard equipment.

*1: As of February 2021
*2: Claim applies to U.S.-spec vehicles. Based on research conducted by Subaru of America and Subaru Canada.
*3: Called “SUBARU XV” in markets outside North America.

2021 Subaru Ascent (US model) 2021 IIHS Top Safety Pick+ award logo


Back to News Release