Back to News Release
May 11, 2018

The Subaru WRX STI to Participate in Nürburgring 24-Hour Race

- Aiming for winning 5th class title in its 11th year of participation,
six mechanics chosen from dealers all over Japan will support the effort -

Tokyo, May 11, 2018 - Subaru Corporation is pleased to announce that its motorsports subsidiary, Subaru Tecnica International (STI), will participate in the 46th Nürburgring 24-Hour Race to be held at the Nürburgring in the Eifel region of Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany, on May 11 to 13, 2018, entering a vehicle based on the Subaru WRX STI. This is Subaru’s 11th Nürburgring 24-Hour Race challenge since 2008.

The WRX STI NBR CHALLENGE 2018 will run in the SP3T class for turbocharged vehicles up to 2.0 liters, a class many leading European manufacturers will again enter this year. Subaru is aiming for its 5th win in the class.

The 2018 race car has the enhanced reliability with improved engine output characteristics, optimized gear ratio and larger diameter brake rotors. Subaru aims to win this year’s race with the car much improved from the one that missed out the podium last year.

Hideharu Tatsumi of STI will manage the team. As for the driver line-up, Carlo van Dam (Netherlands), Tim Schrick (Germany), and Hideki Yamauchi (Japan) are driving once again with the new addition of Subaru SUPER GT driver Takuto Iguchi.

In addition, a team of six mechanics carefully selected from Subaru dealers around Japan will again join the team to support the race effort. Subaru has had dealer mechanics participate in overseas auto races since 1990, a unique initiative aimed at delivering the “Enjoyment and Peace of Mind” of Subaru cars to customers by improving the technical skills of its mechanics. Through the end of 2017, 357 Subaru mechanics had taken part in Safari Rallies, World Rally Championships, and the Nürburgring 24-Hour Races.


< Subaru Motorsport Magazine NBR CHALLENGE 2018 Special Site >

< Team Manager >
Hideharu Tatsumi
< Drivers >      
Carlo van Dam Tim Schrick Hideki Yamauchi Takuto Iguchi
< Mechanics >     
Ryohei Okubo
Miyagi Subaru
Kiyotaka Kawaguchi
Aomori Subaru
Kenta Tsumuraya
Fukushima Subaru
Hiroyuki Nakayama
Hokuriku Subaru
Keito Isobe
Tokyo Subaru
Hiroaki Tanabe
Nagoya Subaru

< Race Vehicle Specifications >

Overall length 5,120 mm
Overall width 1,930 mm
Overall height 1,395 mm
Wheelbase 2,650mm
Engine type EJ20 Horizontally-Opposed 4-cylinder DOHC 16 valve AVCS twin scroll turbo
Engine displacement 1,994 cc
Max output 250kw (340ps) / 5,500rpm
Max torque 461Nm(47kgf.m) / 3,000rpm
Transmission 6-speed sequential gearbox with paddle shifter
Clutch Metal twin plate
Suspension Front: Strut / Rear: Double wishbone
Brake caliper Front: Brembo opposed 6 pot/ Rear: Brembo opposed 4 pot
Tire Falken
Wheel size BBS 18 x 10J
Drive system All-Wheel Drive



Back to News Release